RSS

{Review} Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

02 Feb

22171558Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

Hardcover, 275 pages

Published January 20th 2015 by Katherine Tegen Books

~Rating 2.75/5 Stars~

Goodreads

When Alyson meets Graham Copeland, the new boy next door, she instantly feels like he’s a kindred spirit—shy and awkward like her, someone who has trouble making friends. It’s impossible to resist having a crush on him.

As usual, her sister, Sydney, sees things differently. In Sydney’s mind, Graham’s odd personality and secretive past scream psychopath, not sweetheart. Her gut is telling her to stay away from him, and to protect a love-struck Alyson from her own naïveté. But despite her instincts, Sydney is surprised to realize that a part of her is drawn to Graham, too.

And the more Sydney gets to know him, the more she realizes just how right—and wrong—she is about everything.

Perfect for fans of Michelle Hodkin, and E. Lockhart’s We Were LiarsTwisted Fate is an unputdownable novel, teeming with suspense.

~Review~

I was going to give this a 3.5 Stars… but…. I think that’s tooo generous…

I don’t even know where to begin…

Okay, I can understand what the author was trying to get at, and I’ll admit it definitely had me hooked at first, but it was very poorly written. It left me confused, really, really confused… I feel like it wasn’t planned out at all, so many things did not connect, and ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I just don’t even know.

This book has so much potential but was executed poorly. Creepy boy next door, messed up sister, bad parents . . . but no… All the cliches and stereotypes had to be written. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, some people like cliches and stereotypes, sometimes I even like them. Buuuuut, this was just too much..

One thing that was just ughhhhh, was the different POVs. I swear there are like 8? Maybe more POVs, it was honestly hard to follow, I had to keep going back to the beginning of the chapter to see who’s POV I was reading… Yes, it’s THAT bad.

We hardly spent any time inside one character’s mind before we cut to someone else talking about something completely unrelated. It became hard to even follow the story, never mind care about the individuals themselves. We got POVs from Allyson, Sydney, Graham, Becky, Declan, Kim, the guidance counsellor Richards, email ‘chapters’ of Graham’s dad emailing Dr Adams (Graham’s therapist) and the local police chief. Sooooo, I guess 9 POVs!! That’s a lot…was it really necessary though?? POVs are great but this many is just a mess….

The sisters, Allyson and Sydney. Were they really sisters? OR just one, with a split personality?

I totally saw the “I’m one and the same person” with these two, especially when the sisters were never around the same people. And when Graham got confused when he was talking to her and she corrected him on her “sisters” name, then said, yeah, okay. But was Tate diagnosed split personality? I mean, she must have, right? Why would she be Allyson one minute and Sydney the next? Was it because she was left alone so often when she was younger that she created another sibling to keep her company? It is her imaginary friend/sister? So many questions!
BUUUT at the end with the Police report really confirms my suspicions. Allyson Sydney Tate it says. And it refers to her as ‘Tate’ which, Allyson usually went by, but skip a few lines and it refers to her as Sydney, and was talking about how she liked to skateboard and such.

This is just a big mess… I can’t even.

The ending was a big disappointment. I’m sad, I really wanted to like this book more…

~~~

~Author Bio~

Norah Olson is a former journalist who covered criminal cases for a regional New York newspaper and received a prestigious fellowship for her work. She was educated in New England and lives in Manhattan. TWISTED FATE is her first novel for young adults.

Twitter  | Goodreads

~~~

Happy Reading!

~~~

Advertisements
 
 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “{Review} Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

  1. Reading For Pleasure

    February 3, 2018 at 8:00 pm

    Reblogged this on SpeedReader.

     
  2. Reading For Pleasure

    February 3, 2018 at 7:57 pm

    Oh yeah, I HAVE LOTS OF WORDS FOR THIS BOOK. haHAA

    I reviewed this on my blog not to long ago.

    Like I said in my review, a great concept for a story but not executed well enough.
    -characters were unlikeable, and SOO ANNOYING ahhhhhh

    At first I was pulled in and I thought it would have been different… I dont want to cut this book up too much, because I know not everyone shares my opinion.

    haHAA Ana, I caught that too, that Police Report at then end really put it all together for me.
    Ally/Syd were really ‘one and the same’. Possibly why She/they? got along with Graham so well.

    It really was such a good great concept, I really wish the editor at least would have helped? make it whole, and better connected.

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

 
%d bloggers like this: