RSS

Goddess of Legend (Goddess Summoning #7) by P.C. Cast

08 Oct
Goddess of Legend (Goddess Summoning, #7)
 

Goddess of Legend (Goddess Summoning #7)

Rating: 5/5
Description:
After her car plummets off a bridge, Isabel, a world-weary photojournalist, struggles between life and death when she’s saved by the Water Goddess-with one tiny caveat: Isabel must travel to another time to seduce the legendary Lancelot du Lac away from Queen Guinevere. The handsome knight is a dream for any woman in any century. But Isabel is the one who’s seduced by King Arthur. For Isabel, a deal is a deal. Now, the King watches as fate takes from him the mysterious beauty he has come to worship, knowing all too well that any interference on his part could destroy the kingdom he loves.
 
 
My thoughts:
 
This book was really good. When I bought this from the bookshop I’d never heard of it before and I was very disappointed when I got home and realised it was book number 7 in The Goddess series, however I decided to read it regardless and I’m so glad I did. It was fabulous. I’ve only ever read P.C. Cast’s House of Night series, but I actually think I liked this more. 
I was interested from the very beginning and the whole tale was beautiful and funny, and had me in stitches at times. The whole idea of a woman travelling back in time to Camelot and the time of King Arthur was excellent, as I’ve always loved Camelot and the Knights of the Round Table legends. 
All the characters were brilliant! Isabel, Arthur, Gwen, Lancelot, Mary, James…even Mordred. 
I adored Isabel….simply adored her! She honestly was an above average heroine. She was smart, brave, witty, funny and so totally unique. I’ve never seen a heroine quite like her! She is defiantly one of a kind. Isabel had such a great view on life and the way people should act. She was honest and loyal and wonderful to read about. 
One of the most interesting things about this book was the love triangle….square. Isabel was originally sent back to seduce Lancelot away from Genevieve so that she didn’t leave and hurt King Arthur, only Isabel fell in love with Arthur instead, and he with her. So both couples were together and Gwen and Isabel became the best of friends…… so strange. The thing that made it so incredible was that Arthur cared about Genevieve and still loved her enough that he actually wanted her to be with Lancelot, who he loved like a son, and didn’t want to see her persecuted and harmed even though she had cheated on him. I think if it hadn’t been that Arthur was such a great, kind man he would have wanted harm to come to his wife….but he didn’t. He only wanted the best for everyone. He truly was a great character and a good, loving man. I was so happy he and Isabel found one another. I thought it was great how Isabel took modern things like pants for women and sports and immersed them with Camelot. Seriously, King Arthur and the people of Camelot had NO IDEA what they were in for when Isabel turned up. She turned their whole world upside down. In a good way, of course. 
Another thing I enjoyed reading about was the relationship Isabel developed with Mary. It was beautiful. It was so cute watching her try and get Mary to treat her and think of her as a normal person, not as a countess. I loved how they became friends and how Isabel made Mary come out of her shell. It was wonderful. I also loved the friendship that developed between Isabel, Mary and Gwen. Honestly, some of the things they talked about…… I’ll never be able to look at pickles quite the same way again. *Blushes* (It’s an inside joke. If you’ve ever read this book you’ll get it.) The only thing I actually found I didn’t like about this book was the ending. I HATED it! After everything Isabel had been through she still wound up back in her own time in the end. I wanted her to stay in Camelot and marry Arthur and live happily ever after. But did she get to do that? No! She had to go back to modern day Oklahoma. Yes, she was rescued by ‘King Arthur’ and his son ‘Mordred’, and even though Mary and James and Gwen were all new variations of themselves….it wasn’t the same. I just feel so cheated and it puts a damper, on what I thought was an otherwise brilliant book. It’s not the same Arthur and the same Mary, etc. They were who they were because of their time and their notions and actions that went with being from that time. I LOVED this book up until the ending…..now I just wanna scream with frustration. *sigh* I’m just so disappointed. 
Still, I enjoyed it and I recommend it. I’ll definitely be trying to read the rest of the Goddess series…… 
 
-Cassie @SoManyBooksSoLittleTime
 

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
