RSS

Elphame’s Choice (Partholon #4) by P.C. Cast

28 Aug
Elphame's Choice (Partholon, #4)
 

Elphame’s Choice (Partholon #4)

Rating: 54/5
 
Description:
 
I was marked from birth as belonging to the Goddess Epona–but that didn’t make my life easy. Because of my “blessings,” I was set apart, worshipped, unable to make real connections with others. Then came theFeeling, and with it a glimpse of my destiny. It led me to the MacCallen castle of legend, deserted since the terrible Fomorian war.
I followed the wordless call to breathe new life into a place long dead, but I didn’t realize there were dark remnants of the war lingering in the nearby forest–victims and survivors who remained hidden. Others marked as different, powerful. Feared.
My choice was now twofold. I could keep to the happiness and safety of my newfound home, or I could choose a path that led to something more terrible, more dangerous, more thrilling than anything I’d ever expected.
And in that future I might never be alone again. . .
 
My thoughts:
I absolutely fell in love with all the characters in this book!Which is probably why I can’t get the stinkin story line out of my head. I keep thinking so and so should have done this, or that was a bad choice. That, and just plain mourning. Ugh!

Seriously, I need to move on…

Elphame is the beautiful daughter of the Goddess Incarnate Etain. However, having a human mom and a centaur dad has made her a genetic one of a kind. She is very human from the waist up and from the waist down she has two horse legs with shiny black hooves. Despite her beauty, she is an outsider and has never fit in.

That all changes when she decides to restore and take ownership of the MacCallan Castle. With her handsome brother Cuchulainn at her side, as well as a host of other outsiders looking for acceptance, the castle becomes the symbol of new beginnings.

However, don’t be fooled by the title. This book is not just about Elphame and her choice, but also her brother and his (and to a degree the choices of others.) The story is told in third person but goes back and forth between Elphame’s storyline and Cuchulainn’s. At times I wondered why P.C. Cast didn’t devote the whole book to Elphame. I actually thought maybe P.C. Cast was just writing to write a book. Though after reading the book I realized this is very much a character driven storyline plot and the whole is greater than the sum of all the parts

Like I mentioned earlier I LOVED all the characters. There was such a variety and the scope of the each was perfect. Example, Elphame was beautiful and had lived a very rich life, yet she was genuine and cared deeply for her family, friends and her people. She put them above her and worked along side them on the renovations. Cuchulainn was a protective brother and warrior, lover of the ladies and at times, was serious. His character grows so much in the book and in the end my heart breaks for him. Brighid, the centaur huntress who had left her own kind to live and work with the MacCallan, is fearless, intelligent and a faithful friend.

However, my favorite character is the healer Brenna. She is physically (and emotionally) scarred. Half her face and upper body have horrible burn scars. She has suffered a life of hardship, ridicule and stares because of her appearance, however finds hope and new beginnings at MacCallan…along with something else she never expected. I felt for her character and was emotionally invested in her, and to an extent related to her feelings. She too grows in the book.

The only character I am unsure of my total love for is Lochlan, Elphame’s lifemate. At first I really liked him. He had a tremendous inner struggle, yet didn’t let it over power him. My love for him lessened towards the end of the book. He started telling lies, lies out of love, but lies nonetheless. I do not like liars.

Okay, enough already…you get the point. I liked the book.

If you want a good (romance, sort of) story, with great characters (no action here) read this book.

-Kathy @SMBSLT

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
