RSS

Divine By Choice (Partholon #2) by P.C. Cast

20 Aug
Divine By Choice (Partholon, #2)
Divine By Choice (Partholon #2)
by P.C. Cast
Rating: 4/5
 
Description:
Shannon Parker has finally come to terms with life in the mythical world of Partholon. She loves her centaur husband, her connection to the goddess Epona and the pampering that comes with both! She’s almost forgotten her old life on Earth—especially when she discovers she’s pregnant….
Then a sudden burst of power sends her back to Oklahoma. Without magic, Shannon can’t return to Partholon—and so she needs to find help. Trouble is, it might take the form of a man as tempting as her husband. And along the way she’ll discover that being divine by mistake is a lot easier than being divine by choice….
Review:
I really enjoyed the first book in the series, Divine By Mistake. So I was excited to start Divine by Choice. My hopes for it were that it had the same writing style that captured me in to first the story and that the main character would be just as enjoyable. I got all that, plus an unbelievably exciting plot! This book wasn’t as long as the first one, but it held just as much action as the first. 

In the beginning, Shannon is enjoying her new life with her centaur husband and ready to start a family. Then she is pulled back into her old life in Oklahoma. I enjoyed seeing more of Shannon’s life before Partholon. I love the concept Cast has created of mirror twins. Shannon has only the help of her husband ClanFintan’s mirror, a man named Clint. But he isn’t just an ordinary man, he is a shaman in our world. At first, I hated Clint. Only because I loved Clanfintan so much in the first book. How dare this new guy come along! But once I got over that, I could see Shannon’s dilemma. It would be a hard and confusing thing for any girl to be around your husband’s mirror image, especially if you are afraid you may never get to see your husband again. I think the die hard romance fans will become upset at Shannon in some points, but for me Clint added a very exciting element into the story. 

I was glad to have all my questions answered about Rhinannon. It was nice to know how Shannon and Rhinannon became such different people. I still think that Rhinannon is a horrible person that does some evil things, but hearing about her past, I couldn’t help but sympathize with her. Parts of her past were very intense to read about, to the point that I was peaking through my fingers while reading it. This book is definitely for adult readers. 

The same monster Shannon has to fight in the story is back, except it is now in our world. Shannon has to stop it before it harms her family. I felt so bad for Shannon, she had to go through so much emotionally in this book. Yes, I really sympathized with her, because that is how emotionally invested I have become in this character. When Shannon was going through something, it felt like I was going through it. I love how Cast can make the characters feel that real to you. Even though Shannon goes through hard times, she still had the same great sense of humor and snarky side that I loved in the first book. 

The ending had me crying and was tearing me up a little inside. But the last few pages made me hopeful Shannon might be able to gain back and keep her happily ever after. I am excited to jump in to the next book and see the conclusion in Shannon’s story. Divine by Choice was a fantastic sequel. I usually don’t enjoy a sequel more than the first book, but I did here.

-Kathy @SMBSLT

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Divine By Choice (Partholon #2) by P.C. Cast

  1. Wilfred Jenkinson

    February 19, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Many thanks

     
  2. Kennith Hagstrom

    January 8, 2012 at 6:38 am

    I really like your writing style, fantastic information, regards for putting up : D.

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
