RSS

Divine By Mistake (Partholon #1) by P.C. Cast

16 Aug
Divine By Mistake (Partholon, #1)

Divine By Mistake (Partholon #1)
Rating: 5/5
Description:
The only excitement Shannon Parker expects while on summer vacation is a little shopping. But when an antique vase calls to her, she finds herself transported to Partholon, where she’s treated like a goddess. A very temperamental goddess…
Somehow Shannon has stepped into another’s role as the Goddess Incarnate of Epona. And while there’s an upside—what woman doesn’t like lots of pampering?—it also comes with a ritual marriage to a centaur and threats against her new people. Oh, and everyone disliking her because they think she’s her double.
Somehow Shannon needs to figure out how to get back to Oklahoma without being killed, married to a horse or losing her mind….
 
Review:
Okay. So I’ve had this book sitting on my shelf long enough to forget when and where I bought it. I only remember that I thought it sounded good, so I did. When my crazy, hectic schedule finally let me get around to it, I have to say that I was sad that it took so long. I laughed so hard through the first snarky chapters of this book that it almost bordered on the ridiculous. I’m talking “hee-hawing,” snorting, gut laughs that leave your eyes so full of tears that it becomes difficult to read. There’s nothing like throwing an independent, modern woman back in time to mess things up a bit and shower a bit of confusion with all of her modern-day references. I like that this book was different from all the other paranormal stuff that’s out there, dealing with time travel, goddesses and the like. I also enjoyed the fact that the hero in this story was a bit different too. I found him to be endearing, strong, and well-bred…ha, ha…just read the book! You will see what I mean. I only wish there had been more one on one time with the romantic leads. They never really had much time together with everything else always getting in the way. 

This book was divided into three parts and I have to say the first two parts were like a 10 star read to me. I had a harder time with the third part of the book, just because it focused on a LOT of battling, and the “hairier” side of things, but it was still intense. I did notice a little something that seemed like it could be a serious plot flaw right near the end, and the story after the battle seemed to halt rather abruptly, which kind of made it fall flat for me. 

The very ending aside, I really enjoyed this book, and I look forward to reading the others in the series. 

-Kathy @SMBSLT

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 16, 2013 in individual reads

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Divine By Mistake (Partholon #1) by P.C. Cast

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
