RSS

Awakened (House of Night #8) by P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast

25 Jul
Awakened (House of Night, #8)
Awakened (House of Night #8)
by P.C. CastKristin Cast
 
Rating: 5/5
 
 
 Description:
“My love, speak to me.  Tell me everything.”  Neferet went to Kalona, kneeling before him, stroking the soft, dark wings that unfurled loosely around the immortal.
“What would you have me say?”  He didn’t meet her eyes. 
 “Zoey lives.” Neferet’s voice was flat, cold, lifeless.
“She does.”
“Then you owe me the subservience of your immortal soul.”  She started to walk away from him.
“Where are you going?  What will happen next?”
 “It is quite simple.  I will ensure Zoey is drawn back to Oklahoma.  There, on my own terms, I will complete the task you failed.”
Exonerated by the Vampyre High Council and returned to her position of High Priestess at Tulsa’s House of Night, Neferet has sworn vengeance on Zoey.  Dominion over Kalona is only one of the weapons she plans to use against Z.  But Zoey has found sanctuary on the Isle of Skye and is being groomed by Queen Sgiach to take over for her there.  Being Queen would be cool, wouldn’t it?  Why should she return to Tulsa? After losing her human consort, Heath, she will never be the same – and her relationship with her super-hot-warrior, Stark, may never be the same either…
And what about Stevie Rae and Rephaim?  The Raven Mocker refuses to be used against Stevie Rae, but what choice does he have when no one in the entire world, including Zoey, would be okay with their relationship?  Does he betray his father or his heart?
In the pulse-pounding 8th book in the bestselling House of Night series, how far will the bonds of friendship stretch and how strong are the ties that bind one girl’s heart?
 
Review:
I’d been eagerly awaiting this book’s release and while I enjoyed it, I found I didn’t love it like I was excepting to. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. To me the previous two books in the series have been the best of the series, but this one lacked whatever it was that made those ones great in my opinion. 
The storyline was as usual complicated and everything was happening at once. There was a lot happening…..perhaps too much. I love complex storylines, but I’m beginning to feel like there’s too much going on with this series at times. Just when it seems like everything’s good and as it should be, something changes and alters and sometimes it’s just strange. This book was also very up and down emotional wise. Something horrible would happen, and then something happy and then horrible again. It changed constantly. 
To start off I have to say…..I really don’t like Zoey. While she started out as a cool heroine in the first couple of books, she’s deteriorated in my opinion. She annoys me to no end and I hate the choices she makes. I feel like she carries on sometimes over things and she just gets on my nerves. It’s really hard to read a series when you don’t like the main character. I think one of the only reason’s I’m still reading this series is that with the change in POV’s that has now begun, I’m able to see and hear more of the characters I do actually like. They’re what make the series worth reading, although this book unfortunately revolved around Zoey mainly once again and they faded into the back ground. 
I also didn’t like the parts where Neferet was front and centre. Even though I understand that it’s important to understand what she’s doing, I honestly couldn’t care less about her and therefore I found myself bored during those moments. I was really shattered by Jacks death. He was such a sweetie and one of the truly good characters in this series; it was sad to see him go. His death and the moments after it with the funeral and everything were really emotional and it was impossible not to feel sad. My heart broke for Damien. He loved Jack so much and it’s heart-breaking that he lost him. 
I LOVED what transpired between Stevie-Rae and Rephaim. They’re one of the things I love most about this series. Perhaps it’s that tinge of forbidden that I love so much, but they go together so well despite their differences and I was soooo happy to see them get to be together. I loved the moment when Stevie-Rae let everyone know about her and Rephaim. I thought it was so great that she defended him and didn’t want to hide what they had any longer, despite knowing how everyone would respond. It was very sweet. 
I know Rephaim has done some horrible things in the past, things that he regrets and will never be able to change, but it’s so great knowing he wants to be different. That meeting and caring about Stevie-Rae the way he does makes him want to be different. I was ecstatic when he chose Stevie-Rae over his father and then Nyx allowed him to be human from dusk until dawn. It’s so great that he can be a human boy and they can be together like they should be. I loved it! Now for some things that really irk me….. 
I must say it was weird to see Kalona get into Stark’s mind. I love Stark, I’m team Stark all the way and I really hope that Kalona will leave him alone. Although I’m not holding my breath. I also hope that Kalona isn’t going to use Rephaim in some way like Stark suggested. He and Stevie-Rae have been through enough…..just leave them alone!! I’m upset at the thought that they may get messed around with again. 
As for Heath…..god! Doesn’t anything ever stay left alone in this series? He was dead, and now he’s coming back in some way…..it’s just annoying! Now that his soul is in Neferet’s Vessel it looks like there’s….yet again….ANOTHER guy for Zoey. Hasn’t she had enough? I mean really. How many guys does one girl have to get mixed up with? It’s just too much. 

Anyway….ramblings aside, I liked this book, but hopefully the next one is a tad better. 

-Kathy @SoManyBooksSoLittleTime

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Awakened (House of Night #8) by P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
