RSS

Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld #12) by Kelley Armstrong

18 Jun
Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld, #12)

Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld #12)

DESCRIPTION:
Savannah Levine is in terrible danger, and for once she’s powerless to help herself. At the conclusion of Waking the Witch, Savannah swore that she would give up her powers if it would help a young girl. Little did she know that someone would take her up on that promise. And now, witch hunting assassins, necromancers, half-demons, and rogue witches all seem to be after her. The threat is not just for Savannah; every member of the Otherworld might be at risk. While most her fellow supernaturals are circling the wagons at a gathering of the council in Miami, Savannah is caught on the road, isolated from those who can protect her and unable to use her vast spell casting talent, the thing she counts on most. In a story that will change the shape of the Otherworld forever, Spell Bound gathers Elena, Clay, Paige, Lucas, Jamie, Hope, and others, who soon learn that the greatest threat to supernaturals just may come from within.

 
REVIEW:
Spell Bound continues the story that was started in Waking the Witch. Savannah has given up her powers in order to fix the life of a little girl that wormed her way into Savannah’s heart. The only problem is, she didn’t mean it. A passing wish that was caught by the wrong person left Savannah powerless, no matter how many people told her she didn’t need her powers to survive. Being chased by a witch hunter that wasn’t supposed to exist and kidnapped by a group bent on showing the world that supernaturals are real and more powerful than them, Savannah’s life couldn’t be more complicated. Except, of course, for the fact that she’s still in love with her best friend, Adam, who doesn’t even seem to realize that she’s a woman. I’m going to start with the ending of this book. I both loved and hated the ending of this book. I can’t tell you why I loved it, as that would be a spoiler, and I absolutely hate spoilers in reviews, but I can tell you why I hated it. I hated it because, just like the last book and Armstrongs new YA series, the book ends without answers. Which means we have to wait for the last book to actually come out before we can find out what happens. 

Also there were times (especially at the end of chapters) when we were given details that weren’t necessarily relevant to the story. (One in particular stands out. Where they mention a character that we never meet, though they make it seem like we’re going to…) And often you found yourself expecting more when you flipped the page, only to discover that a new chapter was starting. 

I will admit that I’m coming to like Savannah more. Not that I ever hated her, or anything. But sometimes she just rubbed me the wrong way. By the end of this book I was identifying with her and holding my breath every time it seemed like Adam was going to kiss her (which I was definitely rooting for). 

Now, you may be wondering why I chose to give Spell Bound a 5 star rating when I obviously found some things wrong with it, so let me tell you why. First of all, I adore Kelley Armstrong. I have read every single one of her novels, and I will continue to do so for as long as she is willing to write them. Second, the story line itself drew me in. I didn’t want to put down the book, and I certainly didn’t want it to end. I loved it and can’t wait for the next book to come out.

-Kathy @SoManyBooksSoLittleTime

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Spell Bound (Women of the Otherworld #12) by Kelley Armstrong

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
