RSS

Teaser Tuesday (#17)

21 May

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Ana Carter, and Cassandra Livingston, atSo Many Books So Little Time. Anyone can do it.  All you have to do is: (1): Grab your current read. (2): Open it to a random page. (3): Share 1 or 2 “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.  BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!! (4): Make sure you also mention the author and title.

Tempted

Tempted

#1:  

” “The past doesn’t change no matter how much time you spend thinking about it. Good and bad all add up to the whole. Take away one piece, no matter how small, and the whole changes. Whether it’s optimism, pessimism or fatalism, I don’t spend my time wishing for the past to be different so present would be different, too. I control my future with what I choose now.”

#2:

 ” The crackle of static and silence greeted me. Then, “Anne?”

I fended off my husband’s wandering hands. “Yes?”

“Hello, Anne.” The voice was low, deep, thick. Unfamiliar yet something about it made me think I knew it.

“Yes?” I said, uncertain, glancing at the clock. It seemed rather late for a telemarketer.

“This is Alex. How are you?”

“Oh. Alex. Hello.” My laugh sounded embarrassed this time. James raised an eyebrow. I’d never spoken to Alex. “You must want to speak to James.”

“No,” said Alex. “I’d like to talk to you.”

I’d already been planning to hand off the phone to James, but now I stopped. “You would?”

James, who’d been reaching for the phone, took back his hand. His other brow raised, the pair of them arching like birds’ wings. I shrugged and raised a brow myself, using the subtle nonverbal signals we’d forged as our private marital communication.

“Sure.” Alex had a laugh like candy syrup. “How are you?”

“I’m…fine.”

James stepped back, palms up, grinning. I cradled the phone against my shoulder and turned back to the sink to rinse off the dishes, but James nudged me aside and took over the task. He waved a little, shooing me.

“That’s good. How’s the bastard you married?”

“He’s fine, too.” I went to the living room. I’m not much of a phone conversationalist. I always need something else to do while I’m talking, but now I had no laundry to fold, no floor to mop. No dishes, even, to wash. I paced, instead.

“He’s not giving you any trouble, is he?”

I wasn’t sure how to answer that, so I opted to assume Alex was teasing. “Nothing the whips and chains can’t take care of.”

His low chuckle tickled my eardrum. “That’s right. You keep him in line.”

“So…James tells me you’re coming for a visit?”

The hiss of static made me think we’d lost the connection for a second, but then he was back. “Yeah, that’s the plan. Unless you object?”

“Of course not. We’re looking forward to it.” A slight lie. I was sure James was looking forward to it. Never having met Alex, I wasn’t so sure about having him as a house guest. It was an intimate proposal, and I wasn’t so good at intimacy on short notice.”

#3:

That surprised me, too. I’d sent photos to a few of my friends who hadn’t been able to attend, but…well, we were women. Chicks did stuff like that, giggled over pictures and sent chatty emails.

“Well….” I trailed off, awkward. “When are you coming in?”

“I have a few details to work out with the airline. I’ll let Jamie know.”

“Sure. Do you want me to get him for you?”

“I’ll email him.”

“Okay. I’ll tell him.”

“Well, Anne, it’s almost two in the morning here. I’m going to go to bed. I’ll talk to you soon.”

“Goodbye, Alex –” He’d already disconnected, leaving me to stare at the phone, a bit taken aback.

There was nothing odd, not really, about him being in touch with James. Men’s friendships were different than women’s. My husband never told me about talking to Alex, but that didn’t mean he was keeping it a secret. It just meant he hadn’t thought enough of it to share. In fact, I should be happy they’d resolved their differences. It would be nice to meet James’ dear friend, Alex, the rascal. The ragged one, who ran round and round the rugged rock. The one who promised me treats from Wonderland. The one who called my husband Jamie, not James.

The one James had only ever spoken of in past tense.

Other Novels/Series by Megan Hart

Tempted Naked
Alex Kennedy by Megan Hart

Dirty Reason Enough
Dan and Elle by Megan Hart
Taking Care of Business No Reservations
Kate & Leah by Megan Hart and Lauren Dane

Pleasure and Purpose No Greater Pleasure Selfish is the Heart Virtue and Vice
Order of Solace by Megan Hart
The Resurrected: Part One The Resurrected: Part Two The Resurrected: Part Three The Resurrected: Part Four The Resurrected: Part Five The Resurrected: Part Six The Resurrected: Part Seven
The Resurrected by Megan Hart

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Teaser Tuesday (#17)

  1. shannonm94

    May 27, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    Are you going to post a review for this?

     
  2. shannonm94

    May 21, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Megan Hart is truly an amazing author!

     
  3. readawaytheday

    May 21, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    OMG!! I just finished reading this ! It was really good!!

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
