RSS

Fear (Gone #5) by Michael Grant

05 May
Fear (Gone, #5)
 

Fear (Gone #5)

Hardcover, 509 pages
Published April 3rd 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books (first published March 1st 2012)
Rating: 4/5 Stars
Fear (Gone, #5)
Description:
 
It’s been one year since all the adults disappeared. Gone.
 
Despite the hunger and the lies, even despite the plague, the kids of Perdido Beach are determined to survive. Creeping into the tenuous new world they’ve built, though, is perhaps the worst incarnation yet of the enemy known as the Darkness: fear.
 
Within the FAYZ, life breaks down while the Darkness takes over, literally—turning the dome-world of the FAYZ entirely black. In darkness, the worst fears of all emerge, and the cruelest of intentions are carried out. But even in their darkest moments, the inhabitants of the FAYZ maintain a will to survive and a desire to take care of the others in their ravaged band that endures, no matter what the cost.
 
Fear, Michael Grant’s fifth book in the bestselling dystopian Gone series, will thrill readers . . . even as it terrifies them
 
 
Review:
Fear is probably my most favourite book in the series because the plot change up a little and we get to know about what is happening at the outside world too. I love it that Sam and Caine didn’t fight much in this book and Caine finally come to his senses, not that I am sure if he is truly not evil anymore but he did help Sam and the others to fight gaiaphage.
 
In Fear, the people are plunged into the darkness after the dome is slowly and painstakingly turn dark with every passing minutes. With no light, they have to face with the probability of hunger and chaos. But first thing first, they would have to defeat Drake. Drake is merciless and he happily follow the orders of the gaiaphage to kill people. He is even more delighted when the gaiaphage orders him to catch Diana but I don’t think he is that delighted though because he also get a strong order to NOT kill Diana. Hah.
The kids in the FAYZ really have no break to the agony and terror at all. The author have no end in putting the characters into mind and body challenges every time.
 
What delights me most about this book is that we get to know something about the outside world!! Yay! We finally get to know more about Sam and Caine’s mom and what the people out there is actually doing.
 
My most favourite character in Fear is… Astrid! I never really like her before but in this book she transform to another person who is more tough and self dependent. That’s what I like. Another thing that happen that was totally unexpected happened to Diana. Oh my, how could this happen? I started to like Diana since Plague and I am so sad to see what happen to her in this book later. I really hope she can save herself and the baby later. Please Michael Grant, you can’t be that cruel.
 
My most favourite moment in this book is when the darkness suddenly faded and the gaiaphage did something so unexpected and I am sure my jaw must have hit the ground hard when I read what happen. If you already read the book then you must know what I’m talking about. I also love it that Sam finally doesn’t care what people think of him anymore and instead focus on to what is more important.
 
Fear is my most favourite book of the series and I think the last book might be my second favourite. I am so curious how the author is going to end all this madness but I sure do know it’s going to be epic. Can’t wait for the Light to get my hands on the 6th installment!!
 
 
-Cassandra @SoManyBooksSoLittleTime
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Fear (Gone #5) by Michael Grant

  1. joseasanoj

    May 6, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Good post

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
