RSS

Teaser Tuesday (#14)

16 Apr

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Ana Carter, and Cassandra Livingston, atSo Many Books So Little Time. Anyone can do it.  All you have to do is: (1): Grab your current read. (2): Open it to a random page. (3): Share 1 or 2 “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.  BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!! (4): Make sure you also mention the author and title.

Fall For Me (The Tate Chronicles, #1)

Fall For Me (The Tate Chronicles, #1)

#1:  

The feeling was always the same. The elation I felt when the cool breeze brushed my face.  I could feel my hair trailing behind my head, and the gentle flap against my thigh as my white dress fluttered in the wind. I dove elegantly through the air relishing the faint rustling noise my wings made as I descended, never wanting it to stop. But I knew it would as it was how most of my dreams ended. If only I was out there flying for real, something I didn’t get to do often.

My dreams were a way of consulting with the Council. I never knew when they’d come, but I had them pretty regularly. It was Heaven’s way of checking up on me to make sure I was toeing the line. After spending so many years on earth I didn’t always do everything by the book, but so far I hadn’t got into too much trouble. It was like having nagging parents.

I rubbed the sleep from my eyes and propped myself up on my elbows. After the fog in my head cleared I threw my legs over the side of the bed and wrapped my summer dressing gown around my shoulders. I bounded down the stairs from the loft two at a time, hurried across the shed and burst out the door into the fresh morning air. As I walked briskly across the clearing to the seemingly neglected weatherboard cottage that stood on the other side, I hoped Archer wasn’t already in the shower. I was in luck. The warm water was heaven on my skin and I let it wash away all the tension in my body. I wished I could stay there all day, but eventually I turned the taps off and stepped out to get dressed. When I walked back into the shed Archer was not alone

 

#2:

At first glance it looked like any other room; white walls, a timber floor, and a couch and coffee table at one end. But once you stopped and focused, you could see the grooves of the hidden wall panels. The front window framed the shed outside. Along the far wall, we’d built a second wall about two metres in. I walked over and pushed a section of the panel. A small square flipped down to reveal a silver key pad. The buttons beeped softly as I entered the code, then part of the wall slid sideways revealing the hidden door way.

This was the bit I loved the most. I reached around and flicked the light on. Our entire arsenal was in this room. Stakes, knives, swords, axes, even a couple of whips, all hung up in rows on the wall. You name it we probably had it. The really heavy duty stuff was housed in a cabinet at the far end. Archer went back and forth loading himself up with weapons; his stake belt, a small dagger strapped to his ankle and a tiny arrow gun that could fire with the flick of a
wrist. I strapped my dagger to my upper arm and put my stake belt on.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 16, 2013 in Teaser Tuesday

 

One response to “Teaser Tuesday (#14)

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
