RSS

Teaser Tuesday (#12)

19 Mar

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Ana Carter, and Cassandra Livingston, atSo Many Books So Little Time. Anyone can do it.  All you have to do is: (1): Grab your current read. (2): Open it to a random page. (3): Share 1 or 2 “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page.  BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!! (4): Make sure you also mention the author and title.

Effortless (Thoughtless, #2)

Add This Book On Goodreads:

Effortless (Thoughtless, #2)

#1:  

” You are told from the moment you enter school that time is constant. It never changes. It is one of those set things in life that you can always rely on…much like death and taxes. There will always be sixty seconds in a minute. There will always be sixty minutes in an hour. And there will always be twenty-four hours in a day.
Time was not fluctuating. It moved on at the same, constant pace at every moment in your life.

And that was the biggest load of crap that I’d ever been taught in school.

Truth was, time did fluctuate. It was easy to lose hours or even days in a blink of an eye. Other times, it was a struggle to get through a mere hour. It ebbed and flowed as relentlessly as the
tides, and just as powerfully too. The moments that you wanted to last forever were the ones that were washed away all too soon. The moments that you wanted to speed up, were slowed down to a snail’s pace.
That was the truth of the matter.”

#2:

“Kellan’s fingers paused on his track pants. Roused from my melancholy thoughts, I glanced up at his face; he was frowning. “Am I making a mistake?” he whispered, over the sound of the shower.


With no frame of reference, I wasn’t sure what he meant by that. Seeing my lost expression, Kellan clarified. “Making an album, going on tour…am I making a mistake?”

The room filled with steam as I hopped off of the counter. Kellan grabbed my hand when I stepped in front of him. “All I want is a quiet life with you. What I just signed up for…isn’t exactly a quiet life.”

Wondering how to comfort him, when I often thought the same thing, I reached up and ran my thumb over his cheek. “Kellan, your life will never be quiet, no matter what you do.” He chuckled at my reference, the confusion on his face lifting. I placed my hand on his chest and looked him square in the eye. “You belong on a stage. It’s what you were born to do.””

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Teaser Tuesday (#12)

  1. cassiel12

    March 22, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Ooooo! I just moved this to the top of my TBR list!

     
  2. Anastasia

    March 19, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    Makes me want to read this novel!!!!! I just added it to my To-read!

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
