RSS

Easy by Tammara Webber

14 Mar
Easy

Easy

Kindle Edition, 304 pages
Published May 25th 2012 (first published May 24th 2012)
Rating 5/5 Stars

Description:

A girl who believes trust can be misplaced, promises are made to be broken, and loyalty is an illusion. A boy who believes truth is relative, lies can mask unbearable pain, and guilt is eternal. Will what they find in each other validate their conclusions, or disprove them all?

When Jacqueline follows her longtime boyfriend to the college of his choice, the last thing she expects is a breakup two months into sophomore year. After two weeks in shock, she wakes up to her new reality: she’s single, attending a state university instead of a music conservatory, ignored by her former circle of friends, and failing a class for the first time in her life.

Leaving a party alone, Jacqueline is assaulted by her ex’s frat brother. Rescued by a stranger who seems to be in the right place at the right time, she wants nothing more than to forget the attack and that night–but her savior, Lucas, sits on the back row of her econ class, sketching in a notebook and staring at her. Her friends nominate him to be the perfect rebound.

When her attacker turns stalker, Jacqueline has a choice: crumple in defeat or learn to fight back. Lucas remains protective, but he’s hiding secrets of his own. Suddenly appearances are everything, and knowing who to trust is anything but easy.

(Mature Young Adult/ New Adult)

Review:

After reading this story, I had to ask myself, why have I never read a Tammara Webber story before?!! This story was UNPUTDOWNABLE!

Jacqueline Wallace followed her boyfriend of three years, Kennedy, to college and then unexpectedly, he dumps her to sow his wild oats. Jacqueline is devastated and for two-weeks she can’t bring herself to face him in the economics class they share. She finally realizes that no guy is worth failing a class and trashing her GPA. So Jacqueline goes to the teacher and throws herself on his mercy, begging for a chance to catch up and pass the class. He connects her with the class tutor, Landon, and they begin emailing back and forth working on retrieving her grade. She starts to connect with Landon through the emails and wonders what he looks like. In class, Jacqueline notices another boy, Lucas. When he’s not sketching in a notebook, she catches him staring at her, many times. Jacqueline never noticed Lucas before, but now he seems to be popping up everywhere. Now that she’s not with Kennedy anymore, she can’t help but see that he’s gorgeous: clear gray-blue eyes, lean and muscled body, and bad-boy tattoos snaking up arms. Jacqueline doesn’t know if she’s ready for any relationship so soon after her break-up. Also, she’s not sure if someone who is clearly just sketching and not listening in class is someone for her but she can’t deny that she’s attracted to him. Should she choose a guy who satisfies her body or her mind? Add to all of this, Jacqueline is getting very unwanted attention from Buck, a frat-mate of Kennedy, who suddenly after their break-up, is all about bullying and stalking Jacqueline! This guy is beyond creepy, and his type is the reason I carry pepper spray in my purse!

This story starts off with a bang! My heart was literally pounding in my chest from the opening scene! I won’t say what happens but it was some start. As I said in the opening I could not put this book down. I read it in one day! I just loved everything about it. I liked that Jacqueline doesn’t let the events in her life drag her down. She grieves over her break-up but then dusts herself off, and gets back to living. Her friend and roommate, Erin was the best sort of girlfriend. It’s the type of relationship all us girls yearn to have, someone who is loyal and helps to empower us against what trips us up in life. It was a nice change from the usual “mean-girl” plot line in so many books now. Now let’s get to Lucas, he is easily the knight-in-shining-armor of this book. He’s so respectful, protective and just plain HOT! Some of the scenes in this book had me wiping off the steam gathering on my glasses many times! Let me tease you with a snippet:

“So I don’t want to you to feel pressured. Or overpowered. But I do, absolutely, want to kiss you right now. Badly.” He trailed his finger over my jaw and down my throat, and then into his lap. I stared at him. Finally comprehending that he was waiting for a response, I said, “Okay.” —-As he leaned over me, I felt a heightened awareness of every part of my body that touched a part of his–the edge of his hip pressed to mine, his chest sliding against mine, his fingers tracing from wrists to forearms and then framing my face. He held me in place, lips near my ear. When he kissed the sensitive spot, my breath shuddered. “You’re so beautiful,” he whispered, moving his mouth to mine. 

Oh.My.Goodness!!! That’s just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the steam written in this story! There is so much more to this story than the romance but I don’t want to give anything away. Stay away from spoilery reviews if you can. This story is best discovered by reading it yourself.

I highly recommend this story, just writing this review makes me want to read it all over again! I’m definitely reading anything else written by Tammara Webber

-Ana @ SoManyBooksSoLittleTime

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Easy by Tammara Webber

  1. sashabella

    March 14, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Wow. Just from the quote I want to go out and buy this book right now! Moving it up on my TBR list. Seriously. =D

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
