RSS

Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) by J. Kenner

11 Mar

Release Me (Stark Trilogy, #1)

Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) by J. Kenner

Paperback, 343 pages
Published January 1st 2013 by Bantam
Rating: 5/5 Stars
Release Me (Stark Trilogy, #1)

Description:

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. 
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences

Review:

***This copy was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.***
 
I loved this book. And I absolutely LOVED Damien Stark. I know the synopsis says this is a great read for fans of Fifty and BTY, and I agree.. it fits the whole sexy billionaire theme, but I think it’s good enough that it can stand on it’s own instead of being just a book to get your Fifty fix. The characters had great depth and explosive chemistry!

Release Me is incredibly well-written. The way the author describes everything makes you feel like you’re right in the book experiencing everything. Towards the beginning of the book, J. Kenner describes a painting, and not only did I feel like I was standing right in front of that painting, I felt like I could actually feel what the artist felt while painting it. Her writing was wonderful and brought so much to the story.

The story itself… was it similar to Fifity? Absolutely. But I feel like the characters were different and unique and stand apart from Christian and Ana or Gideon and Eva.

Damien Stark is a retired tennis pro. He made millions winning championships and left tennis to put those millions into his business interests becoming an uber successful entrepreneur. With movie star good looks, he has his pick of any woman he wants, but he only has eyes for Nikki; and he’s not used to taking no for an answer. Damien is beyond intense, but I absolutely loved how he teased and played around with Nikki and I literally swooned all over the place when he called her baby.

 
Nikki has just moved to LA from Texas. A former pageant queen, she is gorgeous but incredibly smart and aspires to one day own her own business and be as successful as Damien Stark. Their attraction is instant and intense but they both have dark pasts, and opening up to each other is easier said than done. Nikki has an overbearing mother and an abusive past that she is still fighting to overcome, which causes her to keep running from Damien; but she can’t seem to fight her attraction to him.
 
I absolutely LOVED this book. I loved the intensity, the passion, the storyline. Although Nikki hadn’t had many sexual partners, I loved that she was not portrayed as weak and virginal. She was strong and snarky and stuck up for herself but never saw how strong or beautiful she really was. Damien’s intensity was… intense? Haha. His persistence when it came to Nikki was sexy and sweet. I loved how he felt about her and how he wanted no one but her. And it was so nice to have an intense and alpha male that was still lovable right away. I didn’t need any time to warm up to Damien… I loved him right away. And I just loved their dynamic.
 
I cannot wait for Claim Me in July 2013!
 

 Ana @SoManyBooksSoLittleTime 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) by J. Kenner

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
