RSS

Illusions (Wings #3) by Aprilynne Pike

03 Feb

Illusions (Wings, #3)

Illusions (Wings #3)

Hardcover, 1st Edition, 375 pages
Published May 3rd 2011 by HarperTeen
Rating: ★★★★★
Description:
“I don’t do patrols, I don’t go hunting, I just stick close to you. You live your life. I’ll keep you safe,” Tamani said, sweeping a lock of hair from her face. “Or die trying.”

Laurel hasn’t seen Tamani since she begged him to let her go last year. Though her heart still aches, Laurel is confident that David was the right choice.

But just as life is returning to normal, Laurel discovers that a hidden enemy lies in wait. Once again, Laurel must turn to Tamani to protect and guide her, for the danger that now threatens Avalon is one that no faerie thought would ever be possible. And for the first time, Laurel cannot be sure that her side will prevail.

Review:
Did I call it or did I call it? That’s all I’m going to say about the triangle in this upper part, so if you want to check out my review of Spells, you’ll know what I mean…

This series has gotten progressively better. I went to a signing with Aprilynne Pike a few days ago and she said that she’s been waiting the whole series to write this book, and you could tell. Much more action, a lot more mystery and intrigue, and so many more times where I wanted to hit one of the characters. Especially David and Tamani. Boys *rolls eyes*. I liked the addition of the new character, Yuki, as well as appearances of old ones. I’ll be interested to see where this is all going in the nest one, but it’s so far away from now 😦 As a side note, she said the final one takes place an hour after the end of Illusions, so get pumped!! Btw, Aprilynne is like one of the sweetest authors alive! 😀

**SPOILERS!!**
Can you guess what I’m going to start with? The only part that really matters: the Laurel-Tamani-David love fest. Well I can’t say I was disappointed. Thank the gods Laurel couldn’t fight her attraction towards Tamani for long, and I am SO Team Tamani. I mean honestly, David is an annoying little science geek that started liking Laurel in sophomore year of high school. And Tamani-mmm sweet, sexy, brooding Tamani-has been watching over her for her whole life. He even went to specific training so he could be her (complicated Gaelic that I can’t remember, but it means: ) Guardian. He’s loved her since before she even knew about him and he’d die for her. David says he’d do the same, but somehow I kind of doubt he knows the true meaning of those words. I mentioned up at the top that I called it, and I did. I bet you Tamani and Laurel will be together (of course) and Chelsea will make a move on David and they’ll be together. It’s the perfect solution, I just hope that’s what Pike chooses otherwise I will be extremely pissed!! Anywho, we shall see I suppose.

One part that annoyed me was how close Tamani was getting to Yuki. I mean, at the end, it’s obvious they’re not going to be together (she’s an unbound Winter faerie, gasp!), but still the time I felt like he was deliberately leading her on for his own gain instead of trying to get information from her. I cringed every time he touched, and when they kissed, I got as angry as Laurel would have. But as long as he still loves Laurel, I won’t beat him up. On the note of Yuki, I can’t believe Klea is a faerie!! At least, I think that’s what Pike was alluding to. And what kind I wonder. I mean, Yuki is Winter, what if Klea is just as powerful? Such a cliffhanger with this part!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
