RSS

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

18 Dec

Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice 

by Jane Austen 

Paperback, The Modern Library Classics, 281 pages
Published October 10th 2000 by Modern Library (first published 1813)
Rating:5/5 Stars
Description:
“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”
So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues. Renowned literary critic and historian George Saintsbury in 1894 declared it the “most perfect, the most characteristic, the most eminently quintessential of its author’s works,” and Eudora Welty in the twntieth century described it as “irresistible and as nearly flawless as any fiction could be.”
 
Review:
“It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”Funnily enough, this was never one of the classics I read an abridged version of as a child. Every once awhile, I pull out my copy to reread.I can definitely see why Pride and Prejudice is a classic. Jane and Mr. Darcy’s story is simply sublime.As I have stated somewhere, I don’t have the easiest time with the prose, finding it at times difficult and meandering, and flowery, but underneath it all is a riveting and very skilful story. I have read and loved many retellings – both modern and set in the historical time period – but in rereading, I find myself captivated anew by the original. None of them hold a candle to Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy.

The conflict, the characters, their growth, the story – Jane Austen sure knows how to write those final chapters, I tell ya! I have read this a thousand times before and STILL stayed up until two am so I could finish the last 25% of the book.

And some of the sentiments expressed simply cannot be done justice to. “It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” How beautiful is that? How sublime is that? I don’t think many declarations of love I have read in romance novels (and I do read a whole bunch of them!!!) can compare in conveying the feelings of overwhelming love as these simple words do.

Yep. Classic alright.

Love it!

-Ana @ SoManyBooksSoLittleTime

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in individual reads

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
