RSS

The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1) by Julie Kagawa

07 Dec

The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1)

The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)

Paperback, 363 pages
Published February 1st 2010 by Harlequin Teen
Rating: 5/5 Stars
Description:
Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.

When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Review:
The Iron King is a breath of fresh air after a string of mediocre novels.I guess that’s not entirely fair. Some of the novels I’ve read lately have captured my interest and kept me turning pages to the end. But, in recent memory, I can’t recall a book that has literally made me forget who I am and what I’m doing. I feel like I body-snatched Meghan Chase and was in her shoes for the whole 370ish pages.

I felt her worry for her brother, Ethan.

I felt her confusion and frustration in Nevernever when finding out her secret.

I felt her fear and determination when pursuing the Iron King.

I longed for Ash’s and Meghan’s interaction, because, let’s face it: DELICIOUS.

There are so many things I loved about this novel, but seeing as I work best in “list” form, here goes.

1. I’ve never read A Midsummer Night’s Dream, but I’ve read a few novels which incorporate the characters from said play. I’ve begun to familiarize myself with the characters: Puck, Oberon, Titania, Mab. This is my favorite version of those characters. Puck was playful and cute and I had a little crush on him, regardless of the awkwardness he possessed in the human world. Because in the Nevernever, he was a cunning warrior, light on his feet, and well-practiced in the magic he possessed.

2. GRIMALKIN. Best. Book Cat. Ever. I now like to pretend that when my cats sneeze, they are laughing at me, and hope that someday they’ll address me as “human,” because Grim was just that freaking cool. It was a constant battle in my mind: “is he a good guy? Isn’t he?”

3. My favorite Nevernever secondary creatures are the Pack Rats. I could actually hear them chittering amongst themselves and poking around through piles of scrap metal. I hope we see much more of them in the Iron Daughter, because they spoke volumes without actually uttering any words. Definitely a fan!

4. Julie Kagawa is a master of attention to detail. Her descriptive writing and her way with words were a paintbrush in my mind. I could picture clearly EVERY single character, setting, fortress. It was beautiful and I cannot believe this is a debut novel. She’s become an auto-buy and I will read anything that she publishes… or even writes on a napkin and throws away. Plus she lives in the same city that I do, and that is awesome 🙂

5. The Iron King was scary. But confusingly scary. He was so menacing, but he was also beautiful and elegant. He was very well-written. I loved his weapons and his knights. My only complaint is that I wish the final battle would’ve been more drawn out.

6. Ash. I can’t even put into words my love for Ash. He’s dangerous. His job is to bring Meghan to Mab, something that cannot end well. He is forbidden to love her, but he does. Ash is a smooth talker and a B.A.M.F. (look it up.) He’s got skills with swords and is the son of a huge beotch of an Unseelie Queen. Every breath breathed in Meghan’s direction caused butterflies in my stomach. Everytime he looked at her, I got giddy and hoped this would be the moment they’d kiss.

I loved this book and it’s one of the most memorable of 2010. The Iron Daughter came out August 1, 2010, which just so happens to be my wedding anniversary. Ah, it’s love. And it’s meant to be. I’m DYING for more of this world.

-Ana @ SoManyBooksSoLittleTime
 
 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
