RSS

Until I Die (Revenants #2) by Amy Plum

29 Jun

Until I Die (Revenants, #2)

Until I Die (Revenants #2)

Hardcover
357 pages
Published May 8th 2012 by HarperCollins Publishers (first published May 3rd 2012)
ISBN 0062004042 (ISBN13: 9780062004048)
RATING: 4.5/5 Stars
Description:
Kate and Vincent have overcome the odds and at last they are together in Paris, the city of lights and love.As their romance deepens there’s one question they can’t ignore: How are they supposed to be together if Vincent can’t resist sacrificing himself to save others? Although Vincent promises that he’ll do whatever it takes to lead a normal life with Kate, will that mean letting innocent people die? When a new and surprising enemy reveals itself, Kate realizes that even more may be at stake—and that Vincent’s immortality is in jeopardy.

In Die for Me, Amy Plum created a captivating paranormal mythology with immortal revenants and a lush Paris setting. Until I Die is poised to thrill readers with more heart-pounding suspense, spellbinding romance, and a cliff-hanger ending that will leave them desperate for the third and final novel in the series.

Review:

Nothing makes me so happy as spending time with characters I love. I fully expected Until I Die to suffer from the middle book syndrome but, despite a few symptoms that were obviously present, Amy Plum managed to make the most of it. Of course it wasn’t as eventful as Die for Me, and I’m sure If I Should Die, the last book of the trilogy, will be much more exciting, but Until I Die was a satisfying read in every way.

The fact that I recognized the villain(s) right away and that I was able to see right through their schemes didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the book. I don’t read this for the mystery, I read it for the setting and the fabulous characters I’ve come to see as friends. I’m not just talking about Kate and Vincent here, the entire group of revenants is very dear and familiar to me, I feel like I’ve known them all for ages. I missed Charlotte a lot in this book, she was always one of my favorites, but I understand why she had to leave and I had Jules to distract me (and make me laugh) with his womanizing ways.

I hate it when a huge part of the plot is built on lack of communication between partners. Most of the problems Kate and Vincent found themselves in could have been easily avoided. All Vincent needed to do was tell the truth instead of constantly asking Kate to trust him and let him handle things. Even though he was just trying to spare her feelings and avoid shocking her further with grim facts of his existence, I thought it was condescending and just a touch stupid, especially because she handled everything he threw at her so well before.

On the other hand, a part of me is glad that Vincent has a flaw I can rant about. Everything else about him is just so perfect and he and Kate are one of the sweetest couples in YA literature, at least to me. I love that they never doubt each other and that they always consider each other’s feelings, even when it requires sacrifice. Their relationship is very mature and healthy, and the big moment they had in this book was handled elegantly.

The fact that I pointed out a few negatives doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the book. In fact, I remain a huge fan of this trilogy and I truly don’t know how I’ll wait a whole year to find out what happens to Kate and my poor Vincent. (Did I just write ‘MY poor Vincent’?! Hah, yes, I suppose I did. Shut up, brain!) Hurry up, Amy Plum. I’ll be OLD by May 2013.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
