RSS

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead )

10 Feb
Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6)
by Richelle Mead )
My Rating: 5/5 Stars
 
Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6)
 
Description:
The astonishing final novel in Richelle Mead’s epic series!Murder. Love. Jealousy. And the ultimate sacrifice. Now, with Rose on trial for her life and Lissa first in line for the Royal Throne, nothing will ever be the same between them.
 
 
 
My Review:
Well my fictional journey with Rose Hathaway has concluded, and I have to say that I feel sort of sad, yet definitely resolved. Yup, that’s the word I’m looking for…resolved. In this series, Rose journeyed, struggled, fought and ultimately decided, and that’s that. I couldn’t have asked for anything more in a final installment for one of my favorite series. 
Richelle Mead wrapped up this storyline in the best way I could have anticipated and regardless of what team you’re on… if you’re Team Rose, I think you’ll be satisfied. 
I’ve rooted for Rose’s character from book one; and as much as Blood Promise andSpirit Bound had me doubting the development of this series, I never wavered in my allegiance to this main character. Up until Shadow Kiss, I was captain of Team Dimitri, by the end of Spirit Bound, I was organizing rallies for Team Adrian. Now, at the conclusion of The Last Sacrifice, I call myself a Team Rose fan and that’s how it should be. I’m happy with her choice as she worked hard for her version of a HEA. 
There was a part in this story where it suddenly hits me why I loved Rose’s character so much. It’s when she’s telling one of the main characters that “…In spite of everything that’s happened, I’ve never thought of myself … as a victim. Being a victim means you’re powerless. That you won’t take action, Always…. Always I’ve done something to fight for myself… for others. No matter what.” Reading that, proved to me why Rose’s character resonated so well with me, she’s strong, loyal, slightly arrogant and entirely decisive… all characters traits that delivered in the right dose had me rooting for her and respecting her choices and her fight. I loved it! 
This final installment kicks off with Rose dealing with the aftermath of Queen Tatiana’s murder. She finds herself on the run trying to uncover the evidence that will prove her innocence and create the catalyst needed to infuse a drastic change in ruling faction of the Morois and Dhampirs. This book is filled with a ton of political strife, mysterious intrigue and most of all self revelation for the main character. She’s committed to Adrian, but as her quest with Dimitri takes her on a road trip of discovery. Much is uncovered that proves to rattle her hopes of finding some semblance of peace and love in her life. 
There are a few aspects that I’d love to get a more conclusive ending for and this character happens to be one of my favorite in the series, but I’m the first to stand by the fact that not every element of a story comes with a pretty red bow. I hear Mead has plans for a spin off, so let’s see where she takes this one. 
I have to admit that I was worried after the last two books that this final installment would just fall completely flat. Well, it didn’t not.one.bit. I was happy with the conclusion and I’ll read this entire series over again to experience Rose’s journey from day one. Great series! You done good Richelle Mead! You really have! 
 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Books We've Read

 

One response to “Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead )

  1. Opal Dolberry

    January 7, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Keep up the superb piece of work, I read few blog posts on this internet site and I think that your site is rattling interesting and holds lots of fantastic info.

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
