RSS

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

05 Feb
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4)
by Richelle Mead 
Rating: 5/5
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)
DESCRIPTION:
The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose’s neck, a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters . . . Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved? Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?

 
REVIEW:
Each book of this series gets better and better. Blood Promise was an excellent read and I absolutely loved it. I’m happy to note, I wasn’t disappointed with anything that unfolded. I can’t believe we have to wait until next May for book 5. It feels like an eternity away…sigh. I guess I’ll have to manage until then. HA! ***Caution- below may contain some spoilers, so don’t read further if you haven’t read the book. This review is more on my feelings on how the plot in Blood Promise unfolded:*** 

To start off, I was happy with the way Richelle Mead was able to involve all our favorite characters: Rose, Lissa, Adrian, Christian and Dimitri without compromising the story. I thought the two story-lines flowed well together. I was a little concerned at first, that we wouldn’t get much of the other characters, because Rose was off in Russia. 

I was also happy we were finally introduced to Rose’s dad and we got to meet Dimitri’s family. I wasn’t sure if Rose’s dad would ever make it into the picture, because of everything else going on in all the books. I hope this was only the beginning and we get more of all of them. : ) They were great additions to Rose’s world. 

This is only my opinion, but I’m not disappointed with how it was played out in the book, but I also have my reasons. I’m glad Rose didn’t have to kill Dimitri and there still may be hope for him to be restored. I’m very interested in the next book and to find out if Victor’s brother can bring the human Dimitri back. However, now this is where things get complicated for me. I can’t help but feel that this is a cop out on Richelle Mead’s part. 

She took us on the road to Dimitri turning Strigoi. I guess I think she should stay committed to that. I’m a sucker for epic love stories. Seriously. I guess it’s because of Adrian. I love and adore him. I’m so torn. I want Rose and Dimitri to be together, but I also like the idea of Rose and Adrian. I couldn’t help feeling my heart break for Adrian at the end, when Dimitri didn’t die (which I knew he wouldn’t), because that meant things with Adrian wouldn’t happen as long as Dimitri was still around. I just hope Adrian isn’t killed off, in order to make things uncomplicated for Rose and Dimitri. 

I guess this is why love triangles are madding and exciting. I’m glad I’m not Richelle and have to make a decision. I thinks it’s too late to introduce a wonderful girl for Adrian, one we would love as much as Rose. Sigh…. 

Okay. I have to throw this out there. Despite my earlier comments, I would be happy if Dimitri was restored to his human self. However, I can’t help but think what would that do to him? I mean, we know him from the previous books and how he swore to protect. He may have been turned Strigoi by force, but he took on their vicious killer nature. Once he was restored, would he be able to handle his’ action while a Strigoi? What would that do to him? And, is it selfish of Rose to bring him back, knowing what it might do to him? I don’t know. Just some thoughts. 

That’s why this series is so great. We, readers, care about the characters and what happens to them. That’s the magic of Richelle Mead’s writing. She makes us care, love, become frustrated at times, and crazy. We want more. 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2012 in Books We've Read

 

2 responses to “Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

  1. Lynwood Gollogly

    February 18, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads very quick for me on Chrome. Outstanding Blog!

     
  2. Ashely Horseman

    January 8, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Very efficiently written post. It will be supportive to anybody who usess it, including myself. Keep up the good work – looking forward to more posts.

     

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply, we would love to hear what you think!

 
